School of Architecture

Tuesday 15 November 2016

Michael Bryce AM at UQ Architecture
Outgoing Advisory Board Chairperson, Michael Bryce AM discusses the Stories from Penang exhibition catalogue with Head of School, Sandra Kaji-O’Grady and student designer Bec Staples at the exhibition opening.

The School would like to convey its heartfelt thanks to our outgoing Advisory Board members who will complete their three-year term at the end of 2016. This group of dedicated architecture champions formed UQ Architecture’s inaugural Advisory Board, ably chaired by Michael Bryce AM (Bachelor of Architecture '63, PhD '08).

In overseeing the School’s activities, the Board has provided valuable advice to the Head of School, and supported and promoted UQ Architecture’s causes to practice and the broader community. Members met several times a year and the conversations had been lively, constructive and inquisitive. Their perspective was refreshing and their questions about research in particular made us look hard at how the School might respond better to the profession’s concerns.

The Advisory Board has achieved much more than this, though. Their assistance in helping to advance the School’s Social Outreach Studio (SOS) Fund will enable financial support, through the collective philanthropic contributions of our alumni and friends, a UQ studio to travel outside Brisbane and engage deeply with rural Queensland, Indigenous, and Pacific Island communities. Through support from this Fund, our architecture students will work with communities on design challenges to deliver real benefits for people facing social or economic disadvantage.

We are also grateful to members of the Advisory Board who have opened their practices to students for teaching and special events, have participated in Crit Week activities, met with staff, and advocated our position to the greater University.

Warmest thanks to UQ Architecture’s present Advisory Board members:

  • Dr Michael Bryce AM AE; Architect and graphic designer; Adjunct Professor, Griffith University, University of Canberra, University of New South Wales.                                                                                            
  • Eugenie Keefer Bell: Former Head of the School of Architecture, University of Canberra.            
  • Michael Banney: M3 Architecture                                                                                                                          
  • Christina Na-Heon Cho: Cox Rayner Architects; Rice Cake Mafia; Co-organiser of PechaKucha Brisbane
  • Adjunct Professor Carey Lyon: Director, Lyons Architects Adjunct Professor, RMIT.
  • Paul Quatermass: Head of Design & Project Management – Qld & NT, Building, Lend Lease.
  • Ingrid Richards: Director, Richards and Spence Architects.                                                                  
  • Kirsti Simpson: Director, Hassell Architects, Chair of the Newstead House Board of Trustees.                                                                           
  • Lindy Johnson: Director, Lindy Johnson Creative Agent; former Director of the Creative Industries Unit, Queensland Government.
  • Brian Mahon: Senior Design Manager Architecture, Planning & Design, City Projects Office, Brisbane Infrastructure, Brisbane City Council.

And past advisory board members:

  • Adjunct Professor Bruce Wolfe: Managing Director Conrad Gargett, Adjunct Professor, UQ
  • Adjunct Professor Shane Thompson: President QLD Chapter of AIA, Adjunct Professor, UQ                                                             
  • Dr Campbell Gray: Director, UQ Art Gallery.
  • Eloise Atkinson: Director, Deicke Richards; Brisbane Housing Company Board Member.                                                                              
  • Jane Grealy: Director, Jane Grealy and Assocciates.