School of Architecture

Tuesday 12 December 2017

The School of Architecture celebrated their 2017 prize winners at an evening presentation night held on Friday 8 December.

The UQ School of Architecture acknowledged academic excellence by awarding 20 prizes for outstanding performance across both its Bachelor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degrees. Dean and Head of School, Professor Sandra Kaji-O'Grady, said that the prize ceremony was a great chance to celebrate the exceptional achievements of those students whose talents, dedication and involvement in the School community set them above others.

"These students will go on to become leaders of our profession. It will be they who will become the advocates for good design, whose work we expect to see in the future winning awards, improving our cities, finding better ways to solve the challenges of climate change, population growth and growing social and material inequity," she said.

Award winners included:

Jane Grealy Book Prize: Connor McBeath

Head of Architecture Book Prize - Joy Lim

Kay Leaf-Milham Book Prize - Simin Louei

Bligh Tanner Book Prize - Jonathan Buttsworth

Conrad Gargett Architectural Design Prize - Matthew Walton

Karl & Gertrude Langer Memorial Drawing Prize - Eliza Panizza

Karl & Gertrude Langer Memorial Design Prize - Eliza Panizza

Angus Munro Digital Architecture Prize - Kyle Chen

Ceridwen Indigenous Scholarship - Aparna Gopal 

A E Brooks Travelling Scholarship - Aiden Morris 

Guilford Bell Scholarship - Rosemary Willink 

John Simpson Prize - John Ferguson

Master of Architecture Thesis Prize - Caitlin Masters

R. Martin Wilson Memorial Prize - Kyle Chen

Board of Architects Prize - Hamish Lonergan

QIA Memorial Medallion - Hamish Lonergan

The dwp Prize for Architecture - Jade Mehonoshen 

Peter Hale Prize for Architecture - Hamish Lonergan

Elenberg Fraser Rising Star Award for Architecture - Demitrya Frangos

Conrad Gargett Public Architecture Prize - Callum Gordon

Congratulations to all winners and 2017 nominees.